A Boy From The Past

I’m a really quiet person around people I don’t know.  I don’t like to interrupt them or tell my own stories. I’m someone who listens when other people talk and don’t ever say anything until I’m asked……unless I’m really comfortable around you.  Because of these um.. lovely qualities that come with being shy, sometimes it’s harder for me to make friends.  But ohhh my! Today at work! Imagine my surprise when a guy my age walks in for his first day….and I strike up an actual, real conversation with him! I know! I’m as surprised as you are! We’ll call this guy Rico.  After talking to Rico for a few minutes, I recognized why he looked oh so familiar – Junior High cross country team!  When I was in 7th grade he was in 8th grade, so I’m pretty sure I never spoke one word to him until today, but I’m so glad that I did! It felt really weird, but the need inside of me to reach out and talk to him and completely be myself was overwhelming and I just had to do it.  We surprisingly talked constantly throughout our 8 hour work day, and by God’s great planning He let our schedules magically match up for tomorrow as well.  He’s really cute, funny, polite, and charming.  He has the brightest blue eyes and a contagious smile. We liked to talk about how we both still try to make it out for a run every once and a while and how so much has changed since our paths last crossed.  When we were working with shoes towards the end of the day (we work at a sporting goods store) I noticed that he really enjoyed singing each and any song that happened to come on the radio playing in the store around us.  I thought it was so cute how he was so comfortable with himself that he let himself sing out loud (I guess that’s my shy side again…) but eventually I let myself start to hum along too (oh, but not sing!) Humming isn’t a big deal right? That’s what I thought. But the second I started, those blue eyes looked at me and he smiled right before he said “Sing it, Elizabeth!” Oh my! I laughed. And then we talked about how I don’t ever sing in front of anyone and only hold concerts for one in my car on my way home….but that’s another story.  Doesn’t Rico sound great? Attractive, has manners, athlete, awesome. Only problem? He has a girlfriend. Named Elizabeth. Who happened to date my first boyfriend soon after me as well. Hm… But that’s okay. I know God has the perfect plan for everything in my life, whether it be with meeting my future husband or just showing me that there are more guys out there than my ex.  The only thing I can do now is trust in Him and do the best I can!

So tomorrow Rico and I go in at 1pm instead of 8am. I could either go for a run before work so we would have something to talk about once I get to work or I could sleep in and try to look cute…..Decisions, decisions…..

~E

P.S. Bonus! He smells good too 😉

2 thoughts on “A Boy From The Past

  1. I am happy to hear about this! You seem elated! Keep it fun and let “Rico” be a reminder that great men exist…the blessing here for you could actually be that you can get really close to a boy without having him be your boyfriend…maybe your best friend, and down the road…maybe even our boyfriend. i wouldn’t try to pursue him too hard, because if he feels like he has to choose,…things could go sour for both of you. I’m sure he is crushing just as hard as you are 🙂 Keep it fun, this is good for you. Just as it is 🙂 Smile!

Leave a Reply

