Book Review: The Longest Ride, Nicholas Sparks

thelongestridecover-680x1020

I typically don’t read very often, but I thought I should pick up a book to bring on vacation with me, so that’s what I did! Last week I read The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks. This is the first of his books that I’ve read and he has a different writing style than I’m used to. Instead of narrating the entire book from one character’s perspective, he alternates from three different people in two separate story lines that meet within the final chapters of the book.  I really enjoyed this because I felt as if I knew what each character was thinking and where each stood in the eyes of each other.  Although it was difficult to get through Ira’s story (he was an elderly man trapped in his car after running off the road) it was well worth it at the end.  The letters that Ira and his wife, Ruth, shared were absolutely beautiful and Sparks did a wonderful job crafting them. Sophia and Luke also had a beautiful love story that particularly interested me because of the college campus setting alongside the country lifestyle described on Luke’s ranch.  Even though I’m not going to give anything away, I’m going to say that this book really tugs at your heart and can leave you craving more. If you’re looking for a lazy day read, this book is a wonderful choice! Enjoy and let me know what you think about it!

~E

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Longest Ride, Nicholas Sparks

Leave a Reply

