Today’s Question: Would I Ever Get A Tattoo?

Hey everyone! This is one question I seem to be getting asked a lot lately, so I thought I would make a blog post about it! Tattoos are beautiful. They’re works of art that require dedication and a steady hand, they can be breathtaking. I appreciate the time and effort that goes into them, but I don’t think I would ever get one anywhere on my own body…with one exception.
I grew up with divorced parents so I really don’t know what it’s like living in a household with parents who love each other unconditionally. Even though their divorce really benefited me in the long run, I never want to go into my own marriage thinking that divorce could be an option for me as well. When I get married, I want it to be forever. In our culture today, people look at the rings and vows as optional — like it’s not permanent and you can change your mind in a few years. I don’t want that. When I say “I do,” I want it to represent forever. To show this, I want my husband and I to get matching tattoos on our ring fingers. Not anything trashy that would take the place of our rings, but just a reminder that the vows are serious, to me they mean forever.
fff84479bfc3ca3e506aec8a55671634
A lot of people I’ve shared this with think that I’m ridiculous. To me, marriage is a true commitment that you should have to work for even when the times get tough. Having a tattoo that I can’t just slide off my finger will remind me of that.
~E

Leave a Reply

