DIY Couples M&M Costume!

So a few weeks ago I posted a DIY costume my boyfriend and I wore to a costume party at the beginning of October. That post has by far been my most popular blog post so I decided to share another DIY costume we made for a party we went to on Halloween this past weekend! M&M’s! This is a super cute, super easy, super cheap costume that looks great!

IMG_7410

Materials needed:

  • T-Shirt (Your favorite M&M color!)
  • White felt (one piece per shirt)
  • Scissors
  • Hot glue/gun
  • Sharpie
  • Notebook paper

DSC_0003

How to:

Throughout the night I was asked by several people if I freehanded each individual “M” and the answer is yes, I did! To start, I googled the M&M logo so I could use it as inspiration for drawing my M’s. After I found one that looked pretty good, I decided that I should probably practice shaping the M on a piece of notebook paper so that I wouldn’t have to worry about messing my felt up. Once I had a pretty good letter (thinking about size so it would be proportional to the shirt also) I flipped it upside down to trace it on the felt in sharpie. This step is CRUCIAL!

DSC_0009

If you don’t flip the M over to trace it, you will have black sharpie marks from tracing it when you cut it out, and that’s no fun! After your M is traced, cut it out and position it onto the shirt wherever you want!

DSC_0010

After you have it into place, apply the glue, let it dry, and then put it on! I think ours turned out pretty cute and we got a ton of compliments on them! This is such a cheap and easy last minute costume and ended up being so much fun to wear!

IMG_7408

Let me know what you think! Have your own DIY? Share it with me!

~E

Leave a Reply

